The Noble Eightfold Path: The Way to the End of Suffering by Bhikkhu Bodhi

The Noble Eightfold Path

Dukkha, its origin, its cessation, and the way to its cessation-these are the Four Noble Truths, the "elephant's footprint" that contains within itself all the essential teachings of the Buddha. It might be risky to say that any one truth is more important than the others. since they all hang together in a very close integral unit.

But if we were to single out one truth as the key to the whole Dhamma it would be the Fourth Noble Truths, the truth of the way, the way to the end of Dukkha.

That is the Noble Eightfold Path, the path made up of the following eight factors divided into three larger groups:

moral discipline
3. Right Speech
4. Right Action
5. Right Livelihood

6. Right Effort
7. Right Mindfulness
8. Right Concentration

1. Rigth View
2. Right Intention

quoted from Beyond the Net: the Noble Eightfold Path website

Additional Link

The Noble Eightfold Path: Way to the End of Suffering by Bhikkhu Bodhi

Visit us on